New Leadership for CPS

HOME >> Media

The Council of Pharmacy Schools: Australia and New Zealand (CPS) has announced the election of new office bearers for the next triennium. CPS is the peak body for pharmacy education and research in Australia and New Zealand, representing 21 leading universities that provide high-quality education to students from Australia, New Zealand, and the world.

The new President of CPS is Kevin Batty, Head of Pharmacy at Curtin University. Professor Batty has a 40-year career in pharmacy, spanning hospital pharmacy, academia and leadership, and research. His research interests are in the fields of pharmacokinetics and pharmaceutical science, supporting practice change to improve the health of vulnerable populations.

The Vice President – returning for his second term in this role – is Andrew McLachlan AM, Head of School and Dean of Pharmacy at The University of Sydney. Professor McLachlan is a pharmacist and researcher with experience in clinical and experimental pharmacology and research into the quality use of medicines. He is actively involved in teaching and serves on expert committees related to medicines regulation, research evaluation, medication safety and anti-doping. In 2018, Professor McLachlan was named a Member of the Order of Australia for significant service to pharmacy as a researcher, educator and administrator, and to professional medical and scientific organisations.

The new Treasurer is David Newby, Associate Professor and Head of Discipline in the Discipline of Pharmacy and Experimental Pharmacology, School of Biomedical Sciences and Pharmacy, at The University of Newcastle. Associate Professor Newby is an academic with expertise in evidence-based practice, pharmacoepidemiology, pharmacoeconomics and clinical pharmacology. He teaches into both the medical and pharmacy programs and has been awarded a Vice Chancellors Citation, and an Australian Learning and Teaching Council citation for outstanding contribution to teaching. He also serves on the Economics Sub Committee and the Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee of the Commonwealth Department of Health.

The immediate past  President of CPS, Professor Debra Rowett PSM, from the University of South Australia, thanked all Councillors and Deputy Councillors for their collegiality and support during her terms on the CPS Executive.  Professor Rowett congratulated the new Executive team of Kevin, Andrew and David. “I look forward to supporting their leadership as they continue to strengthen the voice and influence of CPS and its members to address the many new opportunities for teaching, learning and practice,” she said.

Professor Rowett also thanked, Professor Mark Naunton, from the University of Canberra, for his valuable contribution to the Executive team over the past six years. “Mark’s leadership and strategic advice has been invaluable to advance the work of CPS,” she said.

The new office bearers commenced their roles on 24 November 2023 and will serve for a period of three years. They will work closely with the Councillors and other stakeholders to achieve the objectives of the Council. For more information, please visit the CPS website or contact the Secretariat at